Amazon…come on

Situation:

I order 4 things from Amazon.  Three of the four are delivered without a problem. The fourth however…
Screen Shot 2016-08-30 at 11.17.44 AM

I’m not concerned with them being unable to deliver the package, though I feel that would be a valid complaint.

However what I’m wholly unimpressed with is the journey I’m taken on to CONTACT THEM.

(I also don’t live at that location any longer, so good luck stalking me ya weirdos.)

 

Action taken by me the customer:

I select the “Contact Us” link. I am then taken to a page where my four recent orders are shown in giant columns.
Screen Shot 2016-08-30 at 11.40.23 AM
This is the beginning of the problem.

Amazon accurately calls out the order that was not delivered. So my natural inclination would be that the next action needed would be one of three options within the row.

However, it’s not. Within each of those selections is a wonderful  dead end! YAY!

 

Have you seen the tiny detail that alluded me for 15 minutes? That completely alluded me until I decided to write an entire blog post about improvements Amazon should consider for this precise situation?

Screen Shot 2016-08-30 at 12.02.03 PM

THERE’S A TINY CHECK BOX!

So I discover the checkbox. Oh happy day:

I then scrolled ALLLLLL THE WAY down to the bottom of the page, you know, past the four giant columns of the stuff I ordered to find a wonderful little thing that says “Tell us more about you issue”.

(Que dead-eye stare)
Screen Shot 2016-08-30 at 12.12.02 PM

Where’s my stuff, Amazon?

More like, why is the ONE thing I need to do on this page (check a GD box) so ridiculously small?

Let’s recap:

From a UX perspective, this page is lacking.

  1. Amazon is assuming people read. There’s mistake number one. There is a sentence of direction at the top of the page which says “Select one or more items related to your issue…”, however it is the same font-size as the majority of the type. I looked right over this.Screen Shot 2016-08-30 at 12.29.06 PM.png
  2. When/if the customer, like myself, doesn’t not notice that direction the next opportunity to inform the customer is with the checkbox. When a checkbox is featured on a page it allows the user to intuitively reason that a selection must be made using the check boxes. The problem here is that within each row there are 3 to 4 CTAs which visually overtake the section, and pull the eye away from seeing the check box.
  3. These distractions then lead the user to go in circles, rendering this customer experience as being a quite poor one.

Topical Design Solutions:

  1. Make the directional copy of “Select on or more…” bigger and use a color that calls it out better than burnt red. On Amazon the orange color seems to be used to call out high level CTAs and the burnt red is used more for header copy. So using burnt red for directional copy is just asking for the user to ignore it.
  2. Make the check boxes larger
  3. Make the right-side CTAs smaller

Screen Shot 2016-08-30 at 12.47.09 PM

 

Leave a Reply

